Council Majority Backs Firm Height Caps Near Bethesda’s Fringe

County leaders to map out areas where tallness bonuses are barred

County leaders have resolved to extent a areas of Bethesda where developers can secure additional building tallness by an inducement program.

But they have nonetheless to conclude a accurate bounds of this geographic region.

On Tuesday, a County Council infancy upheld restricting a tallness bonuses awarded to developers whose projects surpass a county’s affordable housing requirements. Some residents who live during a downtown’s corner had pulpy a officials to settle these limitations, arguing that a incentives emanate doubt about a intensity tallness of new buildings nearby their communities.

Montgomery County formulation staff submitted one due map that would mostly shorten tallness bonuses to downtown Bethesda’s executive business district. Council President Roger Berliner also offering adult suggested boundaries.

However, during a legislature assembly on a topic, officials remained uncertain about several properties, such as a Bethesda Sport and Health site during 4400 Montgomery Ave. and properties on Battery Lane. 

During plead over a Bethesda Downtown Sector Plan upheld in May, groups such as a Coalition of Bethesda Area Residents had argued opposite permitting high-rises nearby their neighborhoods. Now, a emanate is resurfacing as legislature members plead a zoning content amendment that acts as messenger legislation to a plan.

Council members are slated to select a final map for restrictions on tallness incentives when they take adult a zoning content amendment again subsequent week.

Local advocates for improved open movement and land use have urged a legislature not to diminish a tallness bonuses that competence kindle a origination of much-needed affordable housing options.

Officials on Tuesday were divided about either a stipulations were appropriate; Berliner and legislature members Marc Elrich, Craig Rice, Tom Hucker, Sidney Katz and Hans Riemer voted in a straw check to support them. Council members George Leventhal, Nancy Navarro and Nancy Floreen expel dissenting votes.

More tabs ...

Posted in
Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
short link